Inaugural Meeting of the 8th Assembly of Obuasi West District: Promoting Unity and Open Governance

The Wesley Methodist Church at Obuasi Municipal witnessed the inaugural meeting of the 8th Assembly of the Obuasi West District. A momentous occasion where 19 elected Assembly members and 11 government appointees took their oaths of office.

His Worship Kofi Owusu Sekyere, District Magistrate, officiated the swearing-in ceremony, emphasizing the solemn responsibility placed upon the elected representatives.

Hon. Ama Pomaa Boateng, MP for Juaben and Deputy Communications Minister, represented the Ministry of Local Government. In her address, she conveyed the President’s message, urging Assembly members to actively engage their communities. Hon. Boateng emphasized the importance of openness and updates to foster a strong connection between the Assembly and the citizens. She advocated for the adoption of the Open Government Partnership program to enhance community participation.

The event, chaired by Okofo Kwabena Bonsu I, Chief of Dompoase, highlighted the need for unity among Assembly members, MPs, and Municipal Chief Executives to drive development in Obuasi.

The MP for Obuasi West commended the newly elected Assembly members, expressing confidence in their capabilities to handle the tasks ahead.

Hon. Elijah Adansi Bonah, MCE for Obuasi, advised the Assembly members to collaborate with opponents for community betterment.

In a significant turn of events, James Adaboh emerged as the Presiding member, securing 20 votes in a runoff election, surpassing his counterpart, David Odoom, who received 8 votes.

The inaugural meeting sets the stage for a period of collaborative governance aimed at advancing the welfare of the Obuasi West District.

Leave a Comment